About Earth and Space Science

Earth and Space Science (ESS) is a new subject based on the Planet Earth and Beyond strand of the New Zealand curriculum (NZC). ESS will be assessed by standards derived from levels 6, 7 and 8 of the NZC.

All Level 1 ESS standards are part of the new Science matrix, internally assessed and worth 4 credits each. Students do not need Level 1 ESS standards to take Levels 2 and 3 ESS, although courses assessed by these standards would give valuable background.

Click here for the Level 1 Science matrix
Click here for an overview of the Level 1 ESS Achievement Standards

There are seven Level 2 and seven Level 3 Achievement Standards.
Four standards per level are internally assessed and three are externally assessed.

Click here for the Level 2 & 3 ESS matrix
Click here for an overview of the Level 2 ESS Achievement Standards
Click here for an overview of the Level 3 ESS Achievement Standards

Many of the new ESS standards have considerable flexibility and could assess courses in astronomical, geological, marine and/or atmospheric contexts. Full year courses such as Earth and Space Science or Earth Sciences, or half year courses in Astronomy, Marine Science, and Antarctic studies could be assessed.

Click here for suggested ESS courses

The Levels 2 and 3 ESS standards will replace the old Science standards at Level 2 and 3 NCEA in 2012 and 2013.

Earth and Space Science Education (ESSE)

All professional educators who have an interest in Earth and Space Science in New Zealand are encouraged to become a member of the standing committee (ESSE) supporting this subject.
Membership of ESSE is via membership of NZASE.
A supplementary subscription is payable for NZASE members to become a member of ESSE standing committee from 2010 onward.
To join NZASE please contact robert@porirua.net or click here
To ensure that you are also registered with ESSE please send your name and email address to Jenny Pollock pollockfamily@xtra.co.nz